Flexin’ Friday – June 2, 2017

Hello everyone!!

So, it is that time of year – Crossfit Regionals. The five best male, female, and team athletes in each region go to the Crossfit Games. I think your chances of making the Crossfit Games is like 0.01% or something insane like that. Thats not the point of this blog today. My blog is about the injuries that have been plaguing the mens side of competition but more importantly the why these guys are getting hurt.

Incase you don’t follow Crossfit, there have been 28 men who have torn their pec muscles in Regionals. Just men, and just men competing individually. Some are people I have never heard before and some are men who have made it to the Crossfit Games. My heart aches for Dan Bailey. He is one of my favorites. I am sure the number is going to rise and The Barbell Spin is keeping track here.

Now, I am going to admit I am pretty naive when it comes to somethings. I threw the question out at the gym the other day about what everyone thinks of all the pec tears? I thought for sure everyone was going to criticize the programming for Regionals. There is no barbell and all dumbbells which is a huge shock. It was the first time ever in Regionals that there wasn’t a barbell. But then again, we shouldn’t really be shocked based on all the dumbbells in The Open and Dave Castro does what he wants. Event 2 is heavy dumbbell snatches and ring dips. This is where the pec tears are happening. I thought two things when the pec tears starting happening. 1. WOW these guys have not trained with the dumbbells at all and 2. WOW Dave Castro is a jerk programming two shoulder/chest heavy movements together. Again, when I posed the question at the gym, I assumed everyone thought the same thing I did. Then I got rocked back to reality.

PEDs – Perfomance Enhancing Drugs. 

I thought REALLY? PEDs are in Crossfit? Where people will eat strict paleo, will turn their nose up at Coca-Cola, and haven’t experienced the greatness of Mighty Taco? These same people will shoot PEDs into their bodies? Then I was told – these athletes are competing for money, sponsorships, and its their livelihood. I guess, I thought. It really isn’t a lot of money for completely putting your life on hold to train 24/7 – IN MY OPINION. I was also told that it is more common than I think and people in the area, even possibly at my gym are on PEDs.

I guess when I hear of PEDs I think of Barry Bonds, Mark McGuire, Roger Clemens, and Sammy Sosa in the late 90’s and not my beloved Crossfit.

03d3902e8b0aa1c62a2d3655d2a264e6

It is just something to think about. I don’t ever want Crossfit to be riddled with PEDs the way Baseball has been. If someone is doing better than before I will ALWAYS give them a high five and hope its because of hard work and not steroids.

Have a wonderful weekend!! Follow my social media and my blog – it will be a fun time I promise ❤ See you MONDAYYYYY!

Leave a Reply

