Flexin’ Friday – May 19, 2017

Welcome back friends!! 

I am to even going to lie, I really didn’t know what to write about today. I had about a handful of ideas but nothing was absolutely jumping out at me. I wasn’t really inspired yet.

Then this happened. CLICK HERE to continue. If you don’t love awesome things and don’t want to see what I am talking about, I guess I’ll explain it. But seriously, it is the most inspiring 30 seconds. 

We have a 90 year old World War II veteran and his wife working out at our gym. In the video he is deadlifting a 55lb kettle bell for five reps (six in the video)!!! Now, if you didn’t click the link above you better go watch it because its seriously so cool. 

After Dennis posted this, I began to think a lot about myself and my journey. When I tell people I do Crossfit – I get one of three reactions. The first: OMG that is so cool. I would never be able to do that. I usually follow up with, you should come try it out, everyone can do it. The second: How do you do you do that with your leg? I then explain that everything can be scaled and I work with great coaches who constantly work around my injury. The third (and my least favorite): is no words at all. I can see them processing how does this girl do Crossfit and looks the way she does. These type of people I try to avoid in my everyday life but hey it happens. 

I want to address all the people who have every said anything along these lines to me today. 

The first: The OMG that is so cool’s. Seriously – come try it out. Most Crossfit gyms offer a free introductory class. If you want to have a lot of fun, come try it out at my gym. If a 90 year old WWII Vet can do it, you can do it. What usually scares people is the price. It totally did for myself as well – then I decided to make a few changes. I figured if I stopped buying Starbucks everyday I was more than half way there and the rest I could afford. Also, keep your eyes out for deals on Groupon’s or on a gyms social media. With the price, you are getting small classes with almost individual attention from the coaches. At both gyms, I think the most I’ve ever worked out with was about 15 people. I use to have a trainer like 8 years ago and was paying $75 a month for one session a week. Again, half way there and you can go everyday to Crossfit. 

The second: The how do you do that with your leg. I DO. I show up every day and do what I am told in a safe way. I wasn’t shy about what is going on with my leg. In the past month, I’ve found out the hard way that it is more apparent I had a leg injury than I thought. I had people who barely know me ask why I walk funny. I had a girl at the gym ask why I was favoring my right side while coming up on a heavy squat. Honestly, I hate using my leg as an excuse. I want to be done with it. In June, it will be two years since I broke it. Guess what, it still hurts. Thursdays workout involved running and my leg felt like it was going to explode. I had new sneakers, the weather is changing, etc, I DON’T KNOW WHY IT HURT, some days are just better than others. I’ve never been closer to tears in a WOD than on Thursday, but I did it and so can you!

The third: The judgmental jerks. Two words: BYE FELICIA. I am not Katrin Davidsdottir or Brooke Wells and I never will be so stop picturing them and give your girl some props. I don’t have an entire lifetime to dedicate to working out and eating right. I love beer and chicken wings too much and work 50 hours a week. I tend to get this reaction from the bro’s who can only bench press or the women who do cardio for hours on end. If I get this reaction from someone, I’ll take a mental note of it and move on. I know who won’t be giving me a high five when I get a PR that I am excited about. 

SOOOO if you want to have fun and workout with some great people come check out my gym by clicking here – Quarter Deck Athletics – Crossfit QDA 

If I can offer any advice – just try it out. It doesn’t have to be my gym but it would be cool if it was. If you’re on the fence and don’t know if you can do it – just try it out. I seriously just walked into a gym and signed up and haven’t looked back since. After a month, most people wish they joined sooner. 

Like and follow my blog, follow my social media, but most importantly, have a great weekend!! See you Monday!! ❤

Leave a Reply

