Flexin’ Friday – May 12, 2017

Hiiii friends!! So today I am going to write about my favorite Crossfit workout. It just so happens to be a hero workout. A hero workout is dedicated to a service member, police officer, or fire fighter who gave their life in the line of duty. They are designed to remind us of the ultimate scarfice they gave to keep us safe. So needless to say, they really suck but you always push through thinking of the hero. 

My favorite workout is DT. Here is a little information on DT: In honor of USAF SSgt Timothy P. Davis, 28, who was killed on Feburary, 20 2009, supporting operations in OEF when his vehicle was struck by an IED. Timothy is survived by his wife Megan and son T.J. 

Now the workout. 

5 rounds for time: 

12 deadlifts

9 hang cleans 

6 push jerks

Men: 155 lbs. Women: 105 lbs. 

Sounds easy right? It’s not. It was my first Crossfit workout ever. I secretly loved it because it was all barbell and the only thing you had to scale was the weight. BUT IT STILL SUCKED. DT also got a lot of attention in the Crossfit games the past two years with the atheletes performing heavy DT and double DT. I’m kind of sad DT probably won’t be at the games this year, unless Dave Castro has something crazy up his sleeve. 

Now I want to dig into why I really love this workout. Yes it’s a hero WOD, yes it’s all barbell, yes it’s all things I’m good at. The real reason is that this was the first WOD I ever repeated and saw how much better I actually got at doing Crossfit. Now remember I wasn’t even going that much between November of 2015 and the beginning of 2017. And my diet was absolutely terrible. And I still somehow got better. Now I don’t have the exact times because my Wodify account was deactivated when I left my old gym. They were something along the lines of the following: 

November 2015 @ 55lbs: 17:30 

May 2016 @ 75lbs: 15:15 

Not only did I go up 20lbs, I got better by two minutes. That is why I love DT. It’s been over a year since I’ve done the workout but every day I look at the WOD at QDA, I secretly hope it is DT. I want to repeat it so I can see how much I’ve improved! 

We did a sort of mini version of DT this week at QDA. 

4 rounds for time

5 hang cleans 

5 shoulder to over head

Now I was gearing up to do at least 85-95lbs and figured that’s where I would be at with the short time cap of six minutes. Then Anita and I had a head to head match where we both used 65lbs. I said before the workout I could probably do 65lbs without putting the barbell down. Guess what – I didn’t put the barbell down. I got through the workout in 1:20. Even with a no rep. The last two rounds sucked. I wasn’t push jerking the first two sets and my arms were getting very mad at me for not using my legs to help them out. I remember thinking to myself “oh Lauren, you have legs use those’. That helped me get through those last two rounds when all I wanted to do was put the barbell down. Honestly, if I wasn’t going head to head with Anita, I probably would have put it down. Now I know I don’t have to put the barbell down – I want to put the barbell down. My lungs burned for the entire day but I think it is what I needed. I needed to push my mind past the comfort zone. It got there and I couldn’t thank Anita and Dennis enough. 

Sorry!! This took a crazy turn. Let me know what you think and follow all my social media ❤️

One thought on “Flexin’ Friday – May 12, 2017

Leave a Reply

