New Brew Wednesday – May 10, 2017

Hello everyone!!!! If you follow my blog you know that my best friend got married this weekend. It was in Ellicottville, NY and the reception was at Ellicottville Brewing Company. I had SIX new types of beer this weekend and decided to tell you guys about them and which one was my overall favorite. Also, the kind people at EBC took us behind the scenes but I forgot my phone on the table and couldn’t take any pictures. I am so mad at myself. They are all EBC so I will just list their name. Another cool thing from the weekend? I met another Cicerone that didn’t work for Wegmans. It was by far the coolest thing ever.

Villaggio

Type: Winter Ale

ABV: n/a

IBU: n/a

Details: There is no description on Untappd. Which is how I pretty much felt about this beer. One, it was a winter ale and I drank it in May. Winter ales usually come out around September so it was definitely a little old. My mistake. I liked it but wasn’t impressed. Just tasted like your ordinary winter ale.

I gave it 3/5 stars on Untappd. Overall rating on Untappd: 3.23

Coldspresso

Type: Blonde Ale

ABV: 7%

IBU: 23

Details: Our refined house process involves streaming cold-pressed coffee through a secondary vessel to produce a rich, smooth, espresso flavor which is less acidic than traditionally brewed coffee ales. Coldspresso delivers a balanced, light-bodied & aromatic experience.

One of my favorites! The bartender knew exactly what he was talking about and that was awesome. This is kind of strong for a blonde ale but doesn’t taste like it. Ales, especially blonde ales usually run from a 4-6% ABV. The coffee flavor is amazing. They must run the beer through some really good espresso beans!

I gave it a 4/5 on Untappd. Overall rating on Untappd: 3.57

 

Two Brothers Session IPA

Type: IPA – Session / Indian Session IPA

ABV: 4.7%

IBU: 61

Details: A golden Session IPA packed with citrusy American hop flavor.

This IPA was pretty good. I enjoyed the flavor and could see myself drinking this on more than one occasion. This is something that I could drink on a summer night just trying to relax. I loved the overall flavor.

I gave it 3.75/5 on Untappd. Overall rating on Untappd: 3.46

Chocolate Cherry Bomb

Type: Stout – American Imperial / Double

ABV: 8.2%

IBU: 32

Details: Robust & malty Imperial stout, brewed with English hops, chocolate malt, Oregon sweet cherries, and Love! Pours a deep brown with a creamy light beige head. Heavy notes of chocolate, tart cherries, and coffee roast.

I cannot believe I have never had this before. I did this for a demo during Valentine’s Day weekend with a cheese pairing and sold my store out of it. This was a very good beer that packed a heavy punch. Stouts usually have a funny after flavor but I think the chocolate and cherry flavor hid that. SOO good.

I gave it a 4.25/5 on Untappd. Overall rating on Untappd: 3.98

Mow Master

Type: Pale Ale – American

ABV: 5%

IBU: 36

Details: Mow Master Ultra Pale Ale uses Belgian Cara malts and an array of aromatic American hops to create a one-of-a-kind citrusy warm weather Pale that is light on body and bitterness–but big on flavor and aroma. A perfect brew for those long days in the hot sun!

This went down pretty smoothly. The smell didn’t have any citrus smell and to be honest I didn’t even taste a lot of citrus either. I honestly don’t think I would drink this again if there were other options available for me.

I gave it a 3.5/5 on Untapped. Overall rating on Untappd: 3.43

Monroe Street Pilsner

Type: Pilsner

ABV: 4.5%

IBU: 34

Details Light and crisp Lager slight spicy hop finish.

If you were looking for anything that was named Budweiser or Blue this would be the beer for you. This was a very drinkable beer that could get out of control if you didn’t watch yourself. After I tried all the beers at the venue, I came back to this just because I knew it wouldn’t really kick my butt.

I gave it a 3.75/5 on Untappd. Overall rating on Untappd: 3.27.

 

Overall, I would have to say that my favorite is the Coldspresso, even though I gave Chocolate Cherry Bomb the higher rating. There was something about the Coldspresso I could see myself drinking all year long. Most beers are very seasonal. I also use the weather for the type of beer I want. I could see the Coldspresso being had all seasons. I also can’t get the coffee flavor out of my head.

Thats New Brew Wednesday for everyone!!!! Follow my social media and leave me some love! I had a few people give me suggestions on some new beers so keep those coming!!!  I am always looking for new ideas! ❤

Leave a Reply

