Flexin’ Friday – April 28, 2017

Hello everyone!! Today I am going to share with you my journey to Crossfit, along with the ups and downs. Buckle in – emotions ahead.

In high school, I was a three sport athlete. In the summers, I was going from softball game to basketball camps and barely even had a summer vacation. Growing up, basketball was by far my favorite. But in high school it slowly shifted to softball. To the point I didn’t want to play basketball my senior year, even though I was top 25 in NYS scoring. I even had a conversation with my Dad about not playing. Then during soccer season a girl slide tackled me wrong and I ended up with three large stress fractures in my left leg and couldn’t play my senior year of basketball. Yet, I was still recruited by Saint John Fisher to play both basketball and softball. Then I decided after my final summer softball game I wasn’t going to play neither softball nor basketball in college. Honestly, I’m glad I didn’t put my body through any of that stress.

So I’m college, I didn’t take care of my body, ate and drank way too much, never “worked out” because I never had to and gained a crap ton of weight. I joined summer softball bar leagues and drank some more. Then my first broken leg happened. A guy slid into third and by third I mean my left leg. It didn’t break right away – that happened three weeks later when I literally tripped over my own feet and landed funny and heard a snap. The doctors believe when the guy slid into me it caused a stress fracture in my fibula then I broke it by the hard impact of me tripping over my own feet. Then I was in a hard plaster cast for 8 weeks. I sat on the couch watching TV feeling sorry for myself. That is when I first found Crossfit – Summer of 2011. That year there was a softball throw. I fell in love. I remember thinking I can workout, lift heavy stuff, AND throw a softball. Knowing what I know now – I 100% regret not signing up for Crossfit at that moment.

In June of 2015 I decided to slide into third during a game. The field was in terrible shape but they cancelled so many games previous to this one, we still played. When I slid, my left leg got stuck because it was so wet and my body kept going. I brought my knee to my chest and my foot was not facing the right way. Broken tibia and fibula. One person who saw it happen said it was the by far the most gruesome thing they have ever saw. Another said when they heard it break they thought a tree was falling nearby. I had emergency surgery the next day and I am now the proud owner of a rod and two screws forever implanted in my leg.

A lot of personal things happened during my recovery causing me to stress eat and being so inactive that I again gained sooooo much weight. I wanted to get off my ass and do something about it. Once I got cleared by the doctor at the end of October I thought about Crossfit. My friend Joelle was doing Crossfit and I talked to her about it a lot. I told her I needed to get in shape before I joined Crossfit. I knew what they did and didn’t want to just jump in. She just told me to do it and I’ll never be ready. So I did. I joined the gym that was closest to my house. November 1, 2015 was my first On Ramp class. I was at this gym for 9 month. I enjoyed it but I never really fit in. I was the only one recovering from an injury and felt stupid when I had to ask for something to be scaled because I couldn’t do it. I would explain the pain I had and my coach would respond with “you are recovering” and offer no insight. This is probably why I loved the Olympic lifting aspect of Crossfit. Nothing had to be scaled because of my leg. I just lifted some heavy stuff and put it down.

Towards the end of my nine months there I rarely went. I’d look at the workouts and just get frustrated that it was something that I couldn’t do so I didn’t go. Again, Joelle came to the rescue. She said her coach is opening a new gym downtown and that I should sign up. She knew my frustrations with the gym was I was currently at and shed a little insight on her coach. So I took the plunge and joined Quarter Deck Athletics. I literally called Kristie, gave her my CC number and showed up the next day. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I just knew I had to do something different.

Needless to say, I love QDA. I was instantly welcomed by Anita, which I’ll never forget. She believes everyone can do whatever they put their mind to and is a constant source of encouragement. That soon grew to be everyone at the gym. I never got that at the first place I was at. I never got that extra push or kick in the ass that I usually always need. After a few rough months I am in a totally new mental state. I miss the gym when I can’t go. I wonder how I could have done on the workout. I am by no means a superstar in the gym but I get in there and do work. Some days are better than others and I am still learning. I can’t wait to see myself in a year with the determination that I have right now.

That’s it – my journey! Remember – follow my social media, like this post, or follow my blog! Special announcement tomorrow – stay tuned! ❤

2 thoughts on “Flexin’ Friday – April 28, 2017

  1. That was such a fantastic story! I never knew you broke your leg twice! So inspiring and YES, I do believe you can do anything you set your mind to 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

