New Brew Wednesday – April 26, 2017

Hellooo everyone! So when I left Dick Road, they gifted me a “Craft Your Own Pack”. Basically six beers you can choose out of a variety of different beers. They had my fellow Cicerone, Matt, pick my beers. He knows what I like. Anyways – I closed my eyes and picked this one out of the six. It is from one of my favorite breweries, probably my top five for sure.

Ballast Point Brewing Company – Sea Rose

IMG_1696

Type: Pale Wheat American Ale

ABV: 4%

IBU: 8

Untappd describes it as: Our Sea Rose tart cherry wheat ale is a fresh take on fruit beers. It is one of the most imaginative recipes yet. The American wheat style is light and clean, while fresh cherry juice adds a soft coral color and fruity nose that gives way to a dry, slightly tart finish. 

OKAY. Let me tell you what I think. With Ballast Point being one of my favorite breweries I had high hopes. They have a wide variety of strange beers that I just can’t get enough of. They do what other breweries are scared to do. I was expecting a punch in the face with the cherry smell and taste and the word tart got me excited because it sounded like it would have a sour after taste. It kind of let me down. I didn’t taste very much cherry and it wasn’t very sour. It was kind of just like a plain wheat ale. The cherry was slightly there but it just wasn’t what I was expecting. It was drinkable and a good summer beer soooo I really didn’t hate it. It just wasn’t what I was expecting.

I gave it 3.5/5 stars on Untappd. Here is me trying it post workout. Yes I used a filter – sue me.

IMG_1697

Follow my social media. By the way – big announcement coming Saturday!! ❤

Leave a Reply

